The Angles vifs collection: ten years, twenty titles

Valérie Adams-B., Michel Couturier, Emilie Danchin, François Goffin,
Jacky Lecouturier, Matthieu Marre, Lucia Radochonska, Marie Sordat,
Jean-Louis Vanesch

04 - 22/11/2015

In French - NL versie


Lucia Radochonska, sans titre, 2010

It is probable that “voir venir” – watching and waiting, and “venir voir”, moving to meet a horizon – represent the twin sources of nourishment for the curious gaze, the two faces of this very particular thirst for the visual. For ten years now, and with around twenty titles to date, the Angles vifs series published by Yellow Now* in its photography collection illuminates the world of young francophone Belgian photographers, offering emerging or established artists the opportunity to publish a first monograph. A valuable calling card or a springboard leading a little further on or even to somewhere else entirely, every work represents an encounter and a dialogue, a creation of several hands and eyes presenting in varying ways the relationship between text and image. Different styles and approaches meet in an exuberant eclecticism but with an equal desire for curiosity and quality. This autumn a long-standing partner, Contretype, and a more recent one, the Botanique, invite you, in two simultaneous but certainly not exhaustive exhibitions, to “venir voir” (or “voir venir”) what inspires some of the leading lights of contemporary photography.
And at the same time to celebrate a little in good artistic company.

With the support of the Fédération Wallonie–Bruxelles


* Yellow Now: “Publishers for over forty years, modest but hard to pigeonhole, unbreakable and unsinkable, criss-crossing the waters of the arts, cinema and photography."


Jean-Louis Vanesch, sans titre, 2010

Double exhibition "Venir voir/Voir venir" at Contretype and the Botanique (from 5/11 to 22/11/2015): Alexandre Christiaens, Olivier Cornil, Pascal Damuseau, François de Coninck & Guy Jungblut, Lara Gasparotto, Brigitte Grignet, Elodie Ledure, Emilia Stefani-Law, Sébastien Van Malleghem, Marc Wendelski.